Urim and Thummim

13 06 2009
All the way from Middle Cove NL to Victoria BC

All the way from Middle Cove NL to Victoria BC

Having just arrived in Victoria and met Dianna and Andrea I had a rather bizarre request. I needed to get to the ocean to deliver my two pebbles from Middle Cove, Newfoundland to their final resting place on the West Coast of Canada. It was also important that I go to a pebble beach because I needed to find two replacement pebbles to bring back  home with me.

Yes Maam, you’ve welcomed a crazy lady into your home.

Neither of them batted an eyelid and Andrea showed me down to the shore where I was able to leave Urim and Thummim Mark I (it’s a reference to ‘ the Alchemist’ for anyone who is wondering what on earth I’m talking about) on a rock shelf, then spent a good 15 minutes contemplating which pebbles should replace them.
I finally settled on two tiny pebbles (the weight of my pack is becoming an issue) one of which is dark and smooth and the other of which is light, rough in texture and the only green tinged pebble on the beach. They are nestled in my pockets ready to help me with any really tough decisions I may have to make over the next 6 months.

Urim and Thummim Mark II

Urim and Thummim Mark II


Actions

Information

Leave a comment